Home / Explore Technology / iPad Apps / Uber Collects Location Data After a Ride Ends

Uber Collects Location Data After a Ride Ends

When Uber updated its mobile app last month, it forgot to mention a major change that could turn many customers off to the ride-hailing service.

As NPR reports, the Silicon Valley firm now collects user location data "from the time of trip request through five minutes after the trip ends."

"We do this to improve pickups, drop-offs, customers service, and to enhance safety," the company's online guide says by way of explanation.

Uber saves what it calls Trip-Related Location Data during a ride: from inception to completion, even when the app is running in the background. But it also obtains information when a user interacts with the app—to flag a taxi, compare fares, even update settings—as well as after the driver ends a trip.

"We're always thinking about ways we can improve the rider experience from sharpening our ETA estimates to identifying the best pick up location on any given street," an Uber spokeswoman told PCMag in a statement. "Location is at the heart of the Uber experience, and we're asking riders to provide us with more information to achieve these goals."

In a discussion on HackerNews regarding this passenger tracking, a user claiming to be an employee of Uber explained that, "We were told the reason to track up to 5 mins after the trip is for fraud, [for example] if a driver doesn't end the trip when she is supposed to. And to figure out where the pick up spots for each address are. A large building may have multiple points where people get picked up or dropped off and knowing those points would be very useful for the drivers and riders."

If you're freaked out by the Uber gods following your every move—to the office, to the gym, to your illicit lover's home—there is the option to disable location settings.

Android users can visit Settings > Apps > Uber > "Permission" > toggle "Location"; on iOS devices, navigate to Settings > Privacy > Location Services > Uber > choose "Never."

Related

Cutting off access, however, "will limit your ability to use certain features," Uber warns in its User Privacy Statement. It also does not limit the company's ability to collect trip location information from a driver's device, or derive approximate location from the user's IP address.

The new rider app, redesigned last month for the first time in four years, includes upgrades that learn from your routines and offer more options based on where you're going.

Editor's Note: This story was updated at 1:15 p.m. ET with comment from Uber.

Read more

About the-online-tech

Check Also

Report: Security Flaw Lets Hackers Snoop on 76 iPhone Apps

Only sending sensitive data over a cellular connection should reduce your risk, according to a security expert.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *