The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) has announced the winners of technical excellence awards to be presented during the 2019 AIAA Propulsion and Energy Forum.

Winners include the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), NASA, Pennsylvania State University, Stanford University, Northrop Grumman Innovation Systems, and Boeing Commercial Airplanes.

The following aerospace professionals will be recognized for their outstanding contributions in their field having been chosen by their peers from related AIAA technical committees:

2019 AIAA Space Automation and Robotics Award

Orbital Express Team

Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA)

Received by: Dr. Fred Kennedy, DARPA

In recognition of Orbital Express’s pioneering work in demonstrating autonomous orbital robotics, including these firsts: autonomous robotic grapple, robotic ORU changeout, and robotic fluid transfer in space.

2019 AIAA Space Systems Award

Jess M. Sponable

XS-1 Program Manager, DARPA

For unique and extraordinary leadership in providing the pathway for the evolution of the United States military launch capability toward robust and affordable reusable space systems.

2019 AIAA von Braun Award for Excellence in Space Program Management

Christopher M. Crumbly

Executive Director, von Braun Center for Science and Innovation

For sustained excellence in furthering human spaceflight through strategic planning, managing several NASA projects, and leading key programs within the Space Launch System.

2019 AIAA Aerospace Power Systems Award

Judith A. Jeevarajan

Senior Scientist, NASA Johnson Space Center

In recognition of significant contributions to the design, development, and test of safe and reliable battery energy storage power systems for aerospace applications.

2019 AIAA Air Breathing Propulsion Award

Karen A. Thole

Professor and Department Head, Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering, Pennsylvania State University

For significant technical contributions to the understanding of convective heat transfer in gas turbine engines, and continuing efforts to promote participation of underrepresented groups in aerospace.

2019 AIAA Energy Systems Award

Arun Majumdar

Director, Precourt Institute for Energy, and Jay Precourt Professor of Mechanical Engineering and of Photon Science, Stanford University

For superior contributions to the science and engineering of nanoscale energy-conversion materials and devices and outstanding energy-related service at the highest administrative levels.

2019 AIAA Wyld Propulsion Award

Stanley K. Borowski

Senior Aerospace Research Engineer, NASA Glenn Research Center (retired)

For sustained outstanding contributions in advanced propulsion, including the development and application of nuclear thermal propulsion for future human lunar and Mars exploration missions.

2019 AIAA Engineer of the Year

Timothy Dominick

Senior Principal Mechanical Engineer, Northrop Grumman Innovation Systems

For successful development and implementation of a novel structural insulator material, JT-700, into multiple controllable solids propulsion systems with potential applications across the aerospace industry.

In addition to these technical awards, we will be presenting two service awards:

2019 Sustained Service Award

Marty K. Bradley

Technical Fellow, Boeing Commercial Airplanes

For sustained, significant service at the national level with emphasis on Technical and Program/Integration Committee leadership, including formation of new committees.

2019 Sustained Service Award

Timothy Dominick

Senior Principal Mechanical Engineer, Northrop Grumman Innovation Systems

For sustained AIAA leadership at the section, region, and national committee levels attested by service to the Delaware Section and Public Policy Committee.

The awards will be presented during the Excellence in Aerospace Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, 21 August, at the JW Marriott in Indianapolis, Indiana.


About AIAA

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 85 countries, and 98 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information,, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.