Twitter is changing to the way it displays direct messages you receive from randoms.

If you've opted to accept direct messages from anyone, messages from people you don't follow will now appear as "Requests" in the messages tab, Twitter announced on Tuesday. Direct messages from people you follow will go to your main Twitter inbox, as usual, and the ones from people you don't know will be filtered to the new Requests tab — just like on Facebook Messenger.

The new Requests tab is available on Twitter's iOS and Android apps, and twitter.com. Just click it to read any messages (including group conversations) you've received from people you don't follow. Upon entering the conversation, you'll be asked to either accept or delete the message. Accepting the message moves the conversation to your main inbox, lets you chat back, and allows the person to message you in the future. If you'd rather not acknowledge the person's message, just choose delete to remove it from your inbox.

Related

As Twitter noted on its Support page, "deleting a message will not prevent that account from sending you messages in the future."

"You will always have the option to block the account or report the conversation," Twitter said. "Blocked accounts cannot send you messages, unless you unblock them."

Rest assured that the sender or senders will not know that you have seen anything until you have accepted the request. Twitter will automatically hide any media in the message until you accept it. If you want to view the hidden media before accepting the message, just press "View media."

Read more

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.